do it. think it. blog it! ... a twisted world

Thursday Jul 28, 2005

Would I have ever dreamt that BoingBoing would be in a banned list ever ?. And hey, this is not in some small time organization. However the filter being used is SquidGuard, which is a content filter, redirector and access controller for Squid. Well, I thought that it would be worthwhile if I downloaded the blacklist database and crosscheck if BoingBoing was in it, luckily not, it was not; which made me believe that this was a blacklisted domain in the "organization" I was at. whew !! (BoingBoing is not banned throughout the internet)
The README file from SquidGuard's Blacklist Database Download read as :
!!! WARNING WARNING WARNING WARNING WARNING WARNING WARNING WARNING WARNING !!! !!! !!! !!! These blacklists are entierly products of a dumb robot (squidGuardRobot) !!! !!! We recommend that you review the lists before using them. !!! !!! Don't blame us if there are mistakes, but please report errors !!! !!! with the online tool at http://www.squidguard.org/blacklist/ !!! !!! !!! !!! WARNING WARNING WARNING WARNING WARNING WARNING WARNING WARNING WARNING !!!
Interesting, yet widely used !!! I gotto go back to my hotel tonight and check BoingBoing for courtesy sake..
Comments:

Man, you are going to have a hard time getting that black permanent marker off your screen. Looks like a "Marks-a-lot".<> :)

Posted by ThinGuy on July 28, 2005 at 04:50 PM EDT #

Well, I had to do that, In no way am i gonna let the world know where I currently am, am I ?? I would not like Computer Associates, Microsoft, RSA, Oracle or IBM knocking on my customers door using this as a lead.

I'm not from Sales, but if I was, I surely would be one very unhappy guy.

Would'nt You ?

Posted by Rohan Pinto on July 28, 2005 at 05:01 PM EDT #

emm... lets analyze this...

Logo... top left
line break
company name beneath
SquidGuard info beneath
admin email starts with webadmin@...
using internet explorer
google toolbar instaled...
nortons antivirus installed...
no popups blocked so far...
client IP address a "1" in between, and ends with a "6"

Which client could this be ?? beats me ;-)

Posted by emm... on July 28, 2005 at 07:28 PM EDT #

Post a Comment:
  • HTML Syntax: NOT allowed